Knowledgebase
In openvpn setup - Advanced - there is a flag: Route all traffic through VPN. What does it do ? If I don't tick it, what traffic goes or not goes through VPN ?
Posted by on 25 February 2014 07:47 PM
If you enable the "Route all traffic through VPN", then all of the traffic of your NAS (VPN client) will only go through the VPN server you connect to.  
It is normally applied in cases such as some countries may have censored certain websites or some services having regional restriction (eg. Netflix video).  Under such cases, user can connect his NAS (VPN client) to a VPN server in different location without region restriction or website censorship as the NAS (VPN client) will get all its traffic through VPN tunnel from this VPN server in different location.
If you do not tick the "Route all traffic through VPN", then your NAS (VPN client) will still get access to Internet through its existing network while getting the VPN server data and accessing its same subnet clients.
(4 vote(s))
This article was helpful
This article was not helpful

Comments (0)
Post a new comment
 
 
Full Name:
Email:
Comments:
Help Desk Software by Kayako Fusion